Monday Morning Smile

What other countries celebrate the Fourth of July?

Virginia Hopkins
Texas A&M University
Corpus Christie, TX

Three days before July 4th, in 1867, the British North America Act went into effect on July 1, 1867, uniting Upper Canada (now called Ontario), Lower Canada (now Quebec), New Brunswick, and Nova Scotia into a British dominion. Canada Day is celebrated by Canadians with parades and picnics.

One day after the U.S. Independence Day, on July 5, [1811], a group of citizens in Caracas became the first in South America to proclaim a formal declaration of independence from Spain resulting in Venezuela Independence Day.

Read about these and 2500+ holidays and festivals in Holidays, Festivals, and Celebrations of the World Dictionary, one of many titles available in the Gale Virtual Reference Library.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s